November 8: The Four Crowned Martyrs, Memorial

The 'four crowned martyrs' - named in the Roman martyrology as Severus, Severian, Carpophorus and Victorinus - soldiers who were beaten to death with leaden scourges under the Emperor Diocletian for refusing to sacrifice to the gods. 

Ancient custom combines their celebration with five other martyrs under Diocletian, Claudius, Nicostatus, Symphorian, Castorius and Simplicius, stone masons who refused to make graven images under the same Emperor around 305 AD.

No comments: